John Emil Stevenson 1900-1992
John Stevenson studied at the Academy of Fine Arts, the National Academy and the American Academy, all of Chicago. In 1975, as Riverside Community College’s man of distinction, John’s work was exhibited in the RCC Art Gallery and two paintings were purchased for the college’s permanent art collection. In addition, John’s work has been exhibited at the San Francisco De Young Museum as well as the Art Institute of Chicago, where he once taught.
The Stevenson works capture with great sensitivity the mood of the figure in his/her environment. One can easily identify with these moods, the colorful and vibrant paintings, capturing the joy and poignancy of life. John Stevenson enjoyed studying the paintings of French Impressionist, Edgar Degas. Some of his works are studies of the Degas works.
“Steve” (as John Stevenson was known) and his wife Phyllis built a log cabin on family property deeded to Phyllis and Steve by Phyllis’s parents. The cabin sits at the confluence of the Flambeau and Chippewa Rivers in Rusk County. It was here that they spent their summers with their son Larry and it is here that Phyllis Stevenson now resides. Most of the Stevenson collection is privately held by his family.